Blogtober14 – Letter to Yourself in 10 Years

Dear Tawny,

You will be nearing 40 years of age. I know. It’s a big number. Remember when you thought 30 was the scary number? Oh, how little did I know, right? You’ll give me grace though for thinking 30 was the seminal year (and maybe it was).

As someone who can still claim their 20s, I wanted to remind you of some things. I know you call yourself an old lady, and while it reigns true for the majority of who we are, I want you to focus on your young spirit that you carry in everything that you do. Don’t forget your curious, kind heart. Don’t let age or circumstance rob you of that. Continue to smile and laugh at everything, especially the ridiculous burdens of adulthood.

There was once a time you detested singlehood. You may be married and have kids, or maybe not – I don’t know your life at 38 – but if you do, remember how much you have prayed for them. How much you longed for your own family. I know you may be tired. We’re introverts and we like our time alone, but I know that it is bringing you joy and I want you to concentrate on that. Sure, you’re sacrificed the majority of your life for them, but it’s a beautiful sacrifice that brings your heart joy beyond measure and glorifies God.

I want you to do two things for me. First, I want you to put on Mumford and Sons (you may need to do some investigative work to track down some music) and I want you to dance around your place. Put it on loud, put it on proud, and go crazy. That band spoke to your heart when you were in your 20s, when you were going through tough times, and when you were going through happy times. So, put them on and reflect where you once were and who you are now.

Second, praise God for all the blessings you have received. He’s generous, isn’t He?

I know sometimes you forget this, but you’re pretty fantastic. I enjoy being you, even at 28 when I have no idea what I am doing.

 

Love,

Tawny

 

P.S. I have enclosed a photo. This is what you looked like at 28. Oh my gosh, right?

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

Leave a Reply

