Renew: Spirit

“I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.” Romans 12:1-2

The Spirit

Let’s define spiritual worship, shall we?

Since there are two words, let’s go one at a time, and since I am unconventional, we’re going backwards.

In the Bible the word “worship” can simply mean specific acts of adoration and praise to God.

Spiritual can mean many things, and I don’t want to get into all of the nuance and not-so-nuance meanings of the word, so instead, I am throwing down my nerd card. I looked up this specific use of “spiritual” in the Greek (thanks William D. Mounce). It means:

“rational, spiritual, pertaining to the mind and soul”

Not only do I love how this connects to the proceeding verse, “Do not be conformed to this world but be transformed by the renewal of your mind,” but I also dearly love how worship is quite literally a mindful action. You do not just worship in spite of your senses or rational, but you do it because your mind cannot do anything else but respond in the most rational way — by worshipping the Savior God!

When I sacrifice my life to Christ, and it’s holy and acceptable to God, I am spiritually worshipping God with all that I am (mind, body, spirit, and heart). It is adoration and praise to God — this entire letter is about reconciliation, God’s Mercy, and Jesus’ work extending said mercy to us. And it is reacting to that truth and presenting your self as a living sacrifice.

Renewal

I can feel my own spirit on fire as I type this blog. This is my renewal: a clear, rational worship swelling inside of me: Jesus on the cross, God sending His Son and making a way for reconciliation, God, always God constant and perfect.

God, may I continue to serve you with all that I am and to worship you for all of my days.

Leave a Reply

