A Prayer for ISIS

 

While praying tonight for the persecuted Church God reminded me of this passage:

“I myself was convinced that I ought to do many things in opposing the name of Jesus of Nazareth. And I did so in Jerusalem. I not only locked up many of the saints in prison after receiving authority from the chief priests, but when they were put to death I cast my vote against them. And I punished them often in all the synagogues and tried to make them blaspheme, and in raging fury against them I persecuted them even to foreign cities. (Acts 26:9-11 ESV)

Who does this sound like? People who hate Jesus? People who want to destroy those who love Jesus? People who would go to cities that are not their own to blaspheme the name of God?

I sat staring into this candle I lit trying to understand God’s redemption. He took a man, Paul,  who hated people that loved Jesus, and then through God’s divine will, he was saved and became one of the biggest advocates for Christ writing half of the New Testament! Countless people have come to know Christ by the words that Paul had penned. His relentless faith changed the world and glorified God.

While praying for my enemies tonight, I was reminded of God’s glorious Redemption. This is why I pray for my enemy. That not only will they be saved, but that their redemption will reflect God’s Amazing Grace.

I pray that one day the men and women of ISIS will one day know God’s Amazing Grace and will glorify Him. That one day I will call them brother or sister.

How incredible is this prayer? I don’t think I could’ve said this a year ago. Thank you Lord for deepening my faith. Keep on keepin’ on, please.

 

Leave a Reply

