How To Adult, Part I

I am nearly 30 and I find myself saying, “I don’t know how to adult.” I think most people can agree that we have no idea what we are doing. We pretend. We try to act like our parents, people we see on television or in movies, and we think somehow that will be good enough. I mean it’s worked so far, right?

It’s no surprise that most people don’t know how to adult. You’re kind of thrown into it. Sure, school and university are supposed to be training for adulthood but they really just prolong adolescence.  We’re given applications for credit cards and loans without any of the wisdom to say no. We’re given the choice to choose the career or trade to enter into when we have no idea who we are or what we want to do. We’re given countless resources but we lack the maturity to really utilize them.  I could go on about our education system, especially as one who used to work for the system, but let’s save that discussion for another time.

So, I am writing and  imparting some wisdom(?) on adulthood. This is my How To Adult blog series, and I have no idea how many blogs I’ll actually write on this subject. We shall see.

How to Adult, Part I: Sacrifice

Sacrifice your needs over you wants. Sacrifice your time for others. Sacrifice your resources for others.

Being a kid gives you a license to be selfish. Everything is about you. Your parents sacrificed their time and money to give you a roof over your heard, clothes, food, schooling, etc. As an adult, you give back to the society that helped mold you (for better or for worse).

How do you do this? It’s simple. Become a productive member of society. Get a job. Pay your bills. Pay your taxes. Give to charity. Serve. Use the skills and talents you have bought at college and use them to make the world a little better.

Don’t be frivolous with your resources either. Create a budget and stick to it. Say no to the concert and yes to the dentist. Pay off your debt and stay out of debt. You know, just stay away from credit cards in general. And if you have to get student loans, pay that off as quickly as possible.

Your body is a resource too, so use it well and take care of it. Exercise. Eat fruit and veggies at every meal. Sure, have the burger, but grab an apple too. And water. Drink that h2o! And go to the doctors. I know it sucks to get shots and give blood, but you’re an adult now and nobody will force you to go, so it’s up to you.

There are days you don’t want to adult. You don’t want to get out of bed and go to work, but instead, watch Netflix and eat brownies. I get it. I’ve been there. Give yourself a day, but then the next day remember that you’re old and those brownies go straight to your bum.

Until next time…

 

Leave a Reply

