Mismanaged Managed: Jeremiah 33

Image-1 (2)

After reading chapter 33 of Jeremiah I had to just sit in it and worship. God is completely faithful. God is healer. God is redeemer. God is the cause of joy and celebration. God is personable. God is righteous. God is merciful. God is peace.

The scene: Jeremiah is locked in the court of King Zedekiah and Jerusalem is in siege mode against Babylon. Then God speaks to Jeremiah:

“Call to me and I will answer you, and will tell you great and hidden things that you have not known.” (Jeremiah 33:3 ESV)

How beautiful and powerful are these words? In this instance God is speaking directly to Jeremiah as the subsequent prophecy is great and hidden things, but I also do believe we have the Holy Spirit who does this for us too (1 John 2:27). The following prophecy is Jesus, it’s the Messiah, the oncoming peace, redeemer, and restorer.

God is shelling out justice to Jerusalem. They have not worshipped him, and as he says, “… for I have hidden my face from this city because of all their evil.” Yet, before you completely lose hope, “I will bring to it health and healing, and I will heal them and reveal to them abundance of prosperity and security.” He continues with one of the most precious passages:

I will cleanse them from all the guilt of their sin against me, and I will forgive all the guilt of their sin and rebellion against me. And this city shall be to me a name of joy, a praise and a glory before all the nations of the earth who shall hear of all the good that I do for them. They shall fear and tremble because of all the good and all the prosperity I provide for it. (Jeremiah 33:8-9 ESV)

I don’t know about you, but sign me up for two! This is beautiful and miraculous and can only come from God. And how will he do this? By fulfilling the Davidic Covenant and bringing the Messiah. A Righteous Branch is coming (this means offspring) from the line of David and he will execute justice and righteousness, and be called “The Lord is our righteousness.” This throne will be eternal and priestly – the Messiah will be both priest and king. Does this sound familiar? It’s Jesus Christ, the son of Mary and Joseph, from Bethlehem. Jeremiah was told great and hidden things, but guess what? So have we! And not only is the Gospel of Jesus Christ readily available for all to hear, we also can experience him. We don’t have to wait for the Righteous Branch because He has come.

I am incredibly honored and happy to call God my God and to worship Him. Thank you Lord for Jesus Christ, the fulfillment of these words, and for your everlasting kingdom that brings mercy and redemption to the nations. Heal the hearts of your creation, bring us under. We need you God. Make known the great and hidden things of your Word and help us to receive your forgiveness and mercy. All praise and glory go to you, Lord! 

Leave a Reply

