Death… it hurts.

Death breaks everything.

It can break laughter. It can break pain. It can break the silly idleness of life. Like worrying about having to get up early in the morning or stressing about doing laundry the next day. None of it matters. None of it matters when you find out that someone you love has died. It puts everything into perspective. It makes you realize how lucky you are to be alive.

Death is sudden no matter how long you’ve had to cope with someone’s passing. And for some, there is time to say goodbye. There is time to do the things you’ve always wanted to do. But for others, death comes without you knowing. It comes before you can say goodbye to your loved ones – there’s no time to accept or understand – just react to the moment your life is taken.

I sit here after an hour of crying over a dear friend who has passed away. It hurts. My heart breaks for his family as I can’t be there with them and because even if I were there, he wouldn’t be there – he will no longer be there.

He was so young. He was going to school to become a chef and he would’ve been the best. He used to write me stories and draw me pictures when he was a kid. He loved adventure, just like his brothers. He loved God. He was the sweetest man and I prayed often that he would do big things for God’s Kingdom.

I know his life was not lived in vain. I know that he is with God right now. I know that his life did impact God’s Kingdom and it will continue to do so long after he is gone. I know that I will never understand why, but I know I am not alone in this grief.

I keep recalling God’s many names as a reminder that God is faithful, He is…

  • El Shaddai:The sustainer
  • El Ohim:Powerful and mighty
  • El Olam:The everlasting
  • Jehovah Simmah:The Lord is present
  • Jehovah Jireh:He will provide
  • Jehovah Rapha:Our healer
  • Immanuel:God with us

So, I will continue to grieve and mourn and feel the pain of a life gone, but I am not alone in this – God is with me.

One thought on “Death… it hurts.

  1. Oh my sweet daughter from another mother and my sister in Christ. John Patrick is still a source of light, and as you saw, he was doing the Lord’s work with all the youth and elders of our community. He leaves a legacy that even I, his mother still can’t comprehend. He has touched so many, and done so much in his short 21 years. My thought is that he did his job so well for our Lord here that he was promoted to heaven to continue in a greater more efficient way. We all have a light and beacon to look to and he loved you and your sweet beautiful family, especial your special little light Skhi. We love and cherish you always in all ways. Love Momma Josie

Leave a Reply

