Well, that escalated quickly

It started with an email and then it escalated quickly into what I can only describe as the female experience.

As I said, it began with an email. And then a dissection of tone and meaning followed with a friend. And then that led to a conversation of sexism and downright misogyny in the entertainment world. It continued onto the lack of diversity, equity, and inclusion, as well. And then somehow we found ourselves questioning our value.

And then chips happened.

It’s frustrating that our value as women seem to always be in question. And that’s not even restricted to men, we women do it too! Are we valuable because we can do what men do? Are we valuable because we are sexy? Are we valuable because men say that we are?

It’s tough being a woman in so many ways, but it amazes me that men can have such a limited perspective and we women do too. We miss that the very core of what we are feeling is the question of our value and worth.

What has saved me from a complete spiral? From sacrificing my principles for the good opinion of men? I remind myself that my value is founded and sustained in Christ.

I could write a novel on that, and maybe one day I will, but I needed to write this post. I am thankful that I am a woman. Let me repeat that. I am thankful that I am a woman. I love that I can feel so many feels. There’s a depth to the human experience that I know very well because of my female identity, and while some may call it weak, I believe it’s strength, and it’s incredibly valuable to humanity’s story.

 

Leave a Reply

