So, a Man and His Son Walk Into a Dunkin’ Donuts

Let’s begin at the end.

“I just wanted to tell you thank you for your kindness and generosity. It really is contagious and I wouldn’t have been so blessed without you first saying something. So thank you.”

This was said by me to the Dunkin’ Donuts cashier.

Rewind.

dunkin_donutsI like to change up my coffee locations. I am a bit strange in that I don’t like having the barista know my name and drink order. (I am not alone.) So today I hit up a Dunkin’ Donuts near a Megabus location. As I have mentioned in previous blogs, I am the Megabus angel. And instead of helping someone, I saw others help someone and it was beautiful.

A man walked into the Dunkin’ Donuts with his son. It’s February and it’s Chicago, so it’s a bit cold and the wind is face numbingly cold! They have scarves wrapped around their faces and it’s obvious they just got off the bus from hours of sitting. He asked how much the hot chocolate was and then quickly realized he was short so he started to walk out, but then the cashier yelled from across the shop, “How short are you?”

“Fifty cents.”

“Get over here,” she commanded and she started to make the drink.

Before I could even grab for my change, a woman in front of me put down the change. And then another woman walked over and said she will buy the man his own hot chocolate. And before you know it, this man and his son had two hot chocolates, two bagels, and a donut.

He was embarrassed but grateful. It’s incredibly hard to receive gifts, especially from strangers, and especially when you can’t give anything in return. I am thankful that he didn’t let pride get in the way. That he let this donut shop bless him, because in the end, we were all blessed.

 

One thought on “So, a Man and His Son Walk Into a Dunkin’ Donuts

Leave a Reply

