Oh, you know just a post about depression and live music

Processed with VSCOcam with c9 preset

I had the distinct pleasure of seeing Joseph and Tyler Sjöström play live last night.

The entire day I was wrestling with actually going to the show. Don’t get me wrong, I love Joseph and was looking forward to seeing them, but I’ve been sick and also I have been wanting to just stay in bed all day, everyday. And that’s not due to sickness, it’s depression. Lethargic behaviors come with the territory.

Anyways, I am thankful I ended up going. They were awesome. Just listen to their music and multiply it by 11 and that’s how awesome it was or you can watch a collection of my snaps from the night (not the greatest quality).

Some of my takeaways from the night:

  • Joseph has a new song they shared with us and it’s about depression. It was incredibly powerful to hear. I am excited for a band to actually write about depression, and not in a sexy kind of way.
  • Tyler had a song that is new as well and it’s about his travels and doing it alone. He would sing about seeing these beautiful, wonderful things and then repeat, “I did it alone.” Oh, it pained me to hear that as I was sitting in this concert hall alone, doing things alone. And then he sang, “I will love you until the end of time… just give me time.” And I thought about how I am capable of giving and receiving a lot of love but I don’t have the chance at this present moment. Well, love as in romantic love.
  • If you watch my Snaps, there is one I took in between sets and it’s just everyone in the venue talking and I am sitting there. There is nothing lonelier than sitting in a room full of people who act as though you aren’t there. So, I was reminded of the blessings of roommates in this season of depression because I feel so alone and they are reminders that I am not alone.

Wow, this post was a downer.

Uhm…here’s some The Awkward Yeti…

9d992af28c1917e3000e54dd510690d60127_BRACES-010207_SuperBowl

2 thoughts on “Oh, you know just a post about depression and live music

  1. Tawny, you’re not alone in feeling totally invisible and left out! I’ve stepped out in faith to go places by myself and just sat there, maybe moping a little. Then I “put on my Big Girl panties” and determined to see what the Lord sent me there for! (And I am, and have been, of course, married). I think that God is building your strength and courage for what HE is calling YOU to do, a unique task that you’ll only need Him to accomplish. Whether or not you are married, you have a specific calling from God! Even the Apostle Paul spent 3 years in Arabia after his conversion, learning directly from Jesus, without distractions. (Galatians 1:17).
    Thank you for this post!!

Leave a Reply

