A Weekend in New Buffalo

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

This weekend I ventured to New Buffalo, Michigan (I can strike going to a new state off my 30th Bucket List), with some ladies from my church.

The plan was simple: get stuff done you can’t get done at home because children and husband. As for me, it was just leave the state and get away from Netflix.

I wrote over 5,000 words of my novel though it would’ve been more but I opted into hanging out with friends instead.

IMG_7114

We drank wine, watched Bridesmaids and The Waitress, ate ice cream, and walked around on the beach.

IMG_7100

Truth is, coming home sucked and it’s not the reason why you’d think. They all missed someone. They all had someone to miss them. And I experienced none of that.

I spent the night crying in my bed feeling the weight of all my responsibilities return without any of the joy of returning home from a trip.

I am trying to remind myself of some truths that I discovered this weekend: (1) I have friends; (2) I have women I can go to whenever I am dating, married, pregnant, or parent that can offer advice; and (3) This time in my life is precious and I should savoir it. 

 

Leave a Reply

