Belly of the Deepest Love

You know how there are just some songs that get you? It’s as though they wrote it for you, and at the same time, you could have written it yourself. I found that song in Tow’rs Belly of the Deepest Love. It’s a beautiful re-telling of the crucifixion of Christ.

Some of the lyrics that feel like my own:

From the belly of the deepest love, The hills trembling throats sing hallelujah

Like the flowers on the dogwood tree, blush with blame you took for me

Oh how you wished to be with me, Oh how you wished to be with me

or

All the clouds swung low over kings and thieves

and how your mother stayed by your side, watched the curtain tear in your eye

and all the heavy hearts could’ve cracked the ground

or

I tried to get to you, but you came to me instead

With the dawn the grave is gone, Oh how you wish to be with me

or

I need something to hold onto, stronger than the iron that held you

Louder than the roar of the crowd that day.

You can listen to the song on Spotify or watch them play it live below. I recommend both.

TOW’RS | Belly Of The Deepest Love [LIVE] from Mountain Wind Films on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

