Loving an Addict’s Daughter

Since I will not be able to participate in NaNoWriMo this year due to all of my responsibilities (I am back in school, full time career, part time ministry, and sleep), I wanted to take a moment to spend ten minutes writing something creative. I rarely get to write creatively in this season of my life – I’ve tried to incorporate moments into my weekly schedule to work on my novel but I am not always consistent. I end up feeling guilty because I have papers to write, things to design, classes to teach, or dishes to do. So, here’s my ten minutes of writing (and hopefully this won’t be for the month!).

Prompt: Write a scene from the day of a wedding

Rules: Write a solid 10 minutes. No editing. Just writing.

“I tried, you know. To not let it get to me. To not be discouraged. She’s disappointed me my entire life, why would today be any different? I hate that I feel this way. I hate that I let her have this power over me. I could choose to ignore it. I could choose to let her be, but for some reason I can’t. I fall victim to her every single time and it’s a painful fall.” Sarah sat on the edge of the toilet clutching her white dress in her hands keeping it from touching the ground. She didn’t know what type of germs were in this bathroom.

Her fiancé, Jerry, knelt beside her keeping his balance by holding onto the toilet paper dispenser. He wanted to say the right words, but he couldn’t find them. So instead he did the only thing he could – he continued to provide copious amounts of toilet paper and let his fiancée cry.

“The most painful thing about all of this is that she won’t remember. She will destroy this day and not remember it tomorrow, but I have to go on forgiving her and forgetting about her destruction. I have to act like it’s okay for the sake of what? Peace? Our relationship?” She blew her nose into the already soiled toilet paper. It was covered in colors of black, red, and white and she laughed to herself. How could she have let her best friend put this much makeup on her? All of her good work was now destroyed.

Jerry’s legs were feeling numb. He wasn’t used to kneeling this long, so he decided to stand up but then quickly realized it made him look like he didn’t care.

“Are you sure you want to marry me?” Sarah asked, not looking into soon-to-be-husband’s eyes. She didn’t really want an answer, but she knew she needed to save him if she could.

“That’s not an even question to be asked. I knew what I was getting into when I asked you.”

“But did you really?”

“Well, your mom is crazier than I thought, but yes.” He paused and then decided to let himself be as vulnerable as he could in the bathroom the morning of his wedding. “I don’t know how to love you when you’re in this type of pain. I’ve never loved an addict’s daughter. I am not sure if I should fight on behalf of you; if I should fix your mom; if I should tell you to ignore her; if I should set up a barrier around us and your mom and we never talk to her again… I don’t know.”

He pulled her up from the toilet seat and lifted her head to meet his eyes.  “But I know this, I will be with you, on your side, until the day one of us dies.”

She inhaled and exhaled smelling his cologne. It was warm and smelled like home – the home they had made with one another. “I love you,” she whispered.

“I love you too. Now, let’s go get hitched.”

3 thoughts on “Loving an Addict’s Daughter

Leave a Reply

