30 Things I did When I was 30

So each year I create a bucket list of items I must do for the year. I have called them my Birthday Bucket List. Usually on the eve of my birthday or the day of, I look over my list and thank God for all that I was able to do. These lists bring me so much joy and gratitude. And then I create a new list! The amount of goals correspond to my age, so this year will be 31 Things!

Overall, 30 was a hard year. I suffered through a depression that lasted many, many months; fell of the wagon when it came to my health; had some big life changes that were not planned (being forced out of my apartment and living situation due to a drunkard, incarcerated landlord); to name a few.

Yet, I wanted to focus on the good on this blog post. Here are some of the highlights of my 30th year (aka my bucket list items accomplished)! And yes, I accomplished 25 of the 30 items this year – 80% is not so bad.

Adventure

Go to a new state:

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Traveled to Michigan for the first time!

Passions

Finish a craft:

15235915_1041387845984724_8081096833163237934_o
Popcorn and cranberry garland

Spiritual

Teach at my church:

14567380_10154587151626926_6997700138693989476_o
Here I am teaching at the Women’s Ministry event

Financial

Pay off one loan:

Paid off one student loan! This has taken me quite awhile to make some headway with my student loan debt, so to actually pay one off is definitely a blessing from God. I still have more to go, but it’s progress!

Personal

Go on a date:

8312_10153838876578695_7186094080265207001_n
Well, I went on 10 dates in one night thanks to Speed Dating. (Yes I am counting it!)

Health

Complete a round of FitbyFirst:

I did and I have no pictures to show for it. Apparently, with doing more SnapChat and Instagram stories I do not keep a record of events anymore. That’s okay. My thighs show it.

Books

Read 30 books:

Well, more like 42. Check my Goodreads shelf.

The five fiction books I have enjoyed the most:

  • The Lunar Chronicles
  • A Monster Calls
  • Firebird series
  • Son of the Black Sword 
  • Anne of Green Gables

The five non-fiction books I have enjoyed the most:

  • The Deep Things of God: How the Trinity Changes Everything
  • The Word of God for the People of God: An Entryway to the Theological Interpretation of Scripture
  • Words of Life: Scripture as the Living Word of God
  • Seven Women: And the Secret of their Greatness
  • Liberating Ministry from the Success Syndrome
2 thoughts on “30 Things I did When I was 30

  1. Congratulations! I am working my lifetime bucket list (in no particular date order).
    #1 Huge: went to Israel in 2013
    Learning piano well enough to sing and play (4th attempt, starting at age 8)
    Trip to Ireland (which you inspired), but I love the U.K. and have been to England, Scotland and Wales
    Go to Disney World.
    See Grand children graduate from College and their weddings
    Dana

Leave a Reply

