Re-Read: The Magician’s Nephew

cabc5b77190f6cb6923e08e49dffde17It’s time to read through the Chronicles of Narnia once again. Some books, especially series, are worth revisiting. I have read through Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Kingkiller Chronicles, and all of Jane Austen’s works repeatedly. There’s a comfort to reading them, but there’s also levels to literature that you can only enter if you take the time to revisit.

I haven’t read Narnia in ages. Most of this series I read BC (before Christian), so I’ve had great pleasure reading the first one, Magician’s Nephew as a Christian as it has a completely different tone and resonance.

I highly recommend reading this book. It’s the story of how Narnia was created and how evil entered that world. It’s a beautiful allegory of our own story. My library uses Hoopla so I listened to the audio version read by Kenneth Branagh and it was a treat!

I wanted to share some quotes that have stirred my soul:

quotes

“But I cannot tell that to this old sinner, and I cannot comfort him either; he has made himself unable to hear my voice. If I spoke to him, he would hear only growlings and roarings. Oh, Adam’s son, how cleverly you defend yourself against all that might do you good!”

quotes

“Well, you know how it feels if you begin hoping for something that you want desperately badly; you almost fight against the hope because it is too good to be true; you’ve been disappointed so often before.”

quotes

“But please, please – won’t you – can’t you give me something that will cure Mother?’

Up till then he had been looking at the Lion’s great feet and the huge claws on them; now, in his despair, he looked up at its face. What he saw surprised him as much as anything in his whole life. For the tawny face was bent down near his own and (wonder of wonders) great shining tears stood in the Lion’s eyes. They were such big, bright tears compared with Digory’s own that for a moment he felt as if the Lion must really be sorrier about his Mother than he was himself.

‘My son, my son,’ said Aslan. ‘I know. Grief is great.”

quotes

[On assuming Aslan knows our needs]

“Wouldn’t he know without being asked?’ said Polly.

‘I’ve no doubt he would,’ said the Horse (still with his mouth full). ‘But I’ve a sort of an idea he likes to be asked.”

quotes

[On the witch eating the apple]

“Child, that is why all the rest are now a horror to her. That is what happens to those who pluck and eat fruits at the wrong time and in the wrong way. Oh, the fruit is good, but they loath it ever after.”

quotes

“All get what they want; they do not always like it.”

 

One thought on “Re-Read: The Magician’s Nephew

Leave a Reply

